prayinghands“This is the covenant I will establish with the people of Israel after that time, declares the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. No longer will they teach their neighbor, or say to one another, ‘Know the Lord,’ because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest.” (Hebrews 8: 10 – 11)

Touch me directly. Set your hand upon me. I am not content with lessons shared by the preacher or teacher. I am not content with holding the hand of one who holds yours. I am not content to know that a deep and abiding relationship is possible.

When will I come alive? When Your whisper is upon my ear. When will I be awakened? When Your Word touches my lips. When will I be energized? When Your breath, the breath of Your Spirit, alights upon me – when I will feel the rush and fire of Your Presence for myself.

Call to me and my heart will answer. The Day is approaching but I have no fear for it. I only fear moving from Your side. So, hold me close. Speak the Word that draws me closer still. You alone captivate my will, restore my soul, and lead me forward.

Lead me, Jesus: not just in the quiet stillness of the morning or in the fresh hope of each day but in all the routines where I may have shut you out and not even been aware of it.  Lead me most within the mundane repetitions of my work or waiting for I desire nothing to be mundane anymore. I want all things to be made new. I want all things infused with Your Presence. I want all things to be overshadowed with Your Goodness and Mercy. I want all things to be made Holy.