procrastinationIt is sad how I’ve become such an expert on this subject but I hope you can learn from the confession of my faults and find healing and deliverance for yourself.

Procrastination is from the Latin pro and crastinus, meaning towards tomorrow. It is representative of a mindset of indecision. When we procrastinate we have our obedience meter set on tomorrow instead of today, later instead of now.

Invariably, this causes us to put the Lord to the test where we act as if we are entitled to a double portion of God’s grace tomorrow for the single portion of God-given grace we are refusing to act upon today.

When this happens, unnecessary pressure is introduced into our lives. We become forgetful as well as neglectful. What do I mean? God nudges your soul and stirs up your attention to pray or intercede for someone but you refuse this mantle of responsibility saying you’re too busy at the moment or you’ll get to it later but you don’t. God asks you to remember someone in the present but you willfully forget them and go to something else.

Willfully forget enough of these opportunities and you will start to forget a lot of things. And, it won’t be pretty. And, it will cause people to lose faith in you. And, it will cause you to be frustrated with yourself.

Avoid all these hassles and heartaches. Be the person “after God’s own heart”. Your obedience meter is set on the now instead of the later, today instead of tomorrow.

Like I said, I have wrestled with this temptation most of my life but now, thankfully, it is more sporadic and occasional than the constant bother and torment it used to be. What changed? God became my helper. I share how he helped me, giving me SEVEN KEYS to Overcoming Procrastination. I hope they will help you, as well.