I woke up this morning thinking on the principal of lift. Don’t ask me why. So, I looked it up on the internet and found more than I could digest at a single reading. Does lift overcome gravity like grace overcomes sin? I do know the Bible says ‘where the pressure of sin abounds, grace much more abounds’. (Romans 5:20) I also know when the Apostle Paul talks about how we become and act as a new creation, it is due to the ‘pressure of the Holy Spirit’.  (Titus 3: 5)

When Jesus says, “You must be born again”, (John 3: 7) He is alluding to the need for force to be applied from above, perhaps the “everlasting arms” (Deuteronomy 33: 27) of God to lift us and enable us to be changed from non-ascending creations to ascending creations in Jesus Christ.

I appreciate your forbearance with me this morning as I think out loud.  No matter what we’ve done or been through or what we are experiencing at this moment, I know God is able to lift us up and carry us forward. Do we have a part to play? Yes, we do. “For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” (Luke 18: 14) “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.” (1 Peter 5: 6)

Lifting us up is one  of the key works of God. Often mistranslated, John 15: 2 should really say, “He cuts off lifts or raises up every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, so that it will be even more fruitful.” New Christians, take heart, Jesus is committed to helping you grow and He will lift you up!

I think this is a good place to stop, today. I’ll come back tomorrow and explain more about John 15: 2. I ask to you leave a comment and let me know if you want to learn more about the great power of grace by which God will lift you up.