ready-writer“My heart overflows with a pleasing theme; I address my verses to the King; my tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.” (Psalm 45: 1)

I was walking out of a Bible study one day many years ago when a fellow pastor came up to me and said, “Norm, I feel so sorry for you.” I asked, “Why?” He replied, “Because you can’t think without talking.”

I’ll admit my ‘tongue is like the pen of a ready writer’, my feedback loop where oft times my thoughts are processed, expressed, and captured in my understanding. It’s a revelatory cycle which has happened in my life many times. I believe the same thing happens when I write. Instead of hearing the words and making the connection, I see them written large on the page and things finally make sense.

But, more than making things clearer for myself, I write to reveal the way of grace to you. It is embedded into all that God has made and if we follow God we will be walking this path. It is the means by which we reflect the Kingdom and walk opposite to the ways of the world and the pathway of sin.

Jesus said, “Few there be that find it” (Matthew 7: 14) but I write that you might be one of the few.

The way of sin is plain. It always begins in betrayal, locks you into a self-serving biased way of doing things. That won’t hold up and you will be moved to blame and then to bitterness as your way narrows toward necessity. Bitterness gives way to bloodshed and bloodshed to a breaking point of judgment.

Grace begins in repentance. Believes in the Lord Jesus Christ as we exchange our will for God’s. We build up our most holy faith through prayer and all the other means of grace and take responsibility for our relationship with God and our neighbor. We bless in a myriad of ways as we are led by the Holy Spirit. We bring life as we are crucified with Christ and are brought repeatedly to points of breakthrough and newness of life.

Yes, my heart overflows with this pleasing theme and that is why I blog.