2easiest-things1“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” (Hebrews 10: 24 – 25)

My observation of life with God and our neighbor has brought me to this conclusion. There are two things that are the easiest for us to do that diminish our relationship with God and our neighbor. With God, the number one easiest thing to do is to let our hearts be troubled. Put another way, the easiest thing to do is to struggle through life.

Notice I didn’t say the two things that make life easy but the two things that are the easiest to do. Struggling with things is number one. It is the antithesis of trusting Jesus with all of our heart, soul, mind, and strength but it happens so naturally.  Terrible things have happened because of how easy and alluring it is to try to live this way.

Hitler even wrote a book about it called Mein Kampf, or My Struggle.  A whole religion is based on this easy way of thinking. It’s called jihad.  I just want to remind you how easy it is to think life is best lived by being down for the struggle when Jesus calls us to the exact opposite kind of life.

The second easiest thing for us to do leaves us open to the first. The second easiest thing to do is to drift apart. We’re concerned but we don’t do anything with our concerns because we’ve drifted apart. We’re too far away to make a difference. We suddenly have a million and one excuses for why we don’t do the things we should do and that God is prompting us to do.

Go ahead, admit it to yourself. ‘Fess up. I don’t need to do what comes easy. I need to get together with others so I can be spurred on to love and good deeds. I don’t need to be carried along in the struggle. I need to be encouraged into a greater expression of the faith that works by love.