hopeI’ve been asked to conduct a funeral today. It is for a classmate of my baby girl who is 25. I grieve at the very thought of having to do this. A life that was far too short. Yet, I do not grieve without hope.

What is hope? My favorite definition is ‘hope is faith with TBA written over it’. We know it’s certain. We know for sure what we hope for is going to happen, we just don’t know the when. There is no date on the calendar, no hour in our appointment book that is marked for its completion.

Today, though, I will give thanks for a hope realized, even though I give thanks with mixed emotions. I rest my hope on what the Apostle Peter says, “Simon Peter, a servant and apostle of Jesus Christ, To those who through the righteousness of our God and Savior Jesus Christ have received a faith as precious as ours: grace and peace be yours in abundance through the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord. His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desire.” (2 Peter 1 – 4)

I have mixed emotions because Peter goes on to say we can add to this work of God’s promise and confirm our calling and become fruitful in our experience of all God chooses for us. Or, we can find ourselves acting as if these promises are hidden from us and forget the freedom God gave to us when God gave us forgiveness.

Regardless of how we can become, God’s Word assures us (2 Peter 2) that God knows how to deliver us even when we’ve been put in bondage to distress and the depravity of others. Again, I remind you as I encourage myself: “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.” (Hebrews 10: 23)