grandcanyonIn 1995, I attended the Beeson Institute for Advanced Church Leadership Conference on worship at the Community Church of Joy in Glendale, Arizona. It was my first trip to Arizona and with a few days to spare before everything started I decided to visit the Grand Canyon. I drove up from Phoenix, through Flagstaff, and the National Forests to find myself at first nonplussed by the sparseness of the surrounding country.

Then, I drove into the park, got out of my car, and walked over to the edge of the canyon. It was there, on the edge where everything changed. I stepped back a few steps. The drop off was huge. Up close, the depth and scope hits you and you understand why we call it the Grand Canyon. Fascinated from that instant on, I walked the edges and explored its depths as much as I could the rest of the day, finding treasures of discovery at every turn.

Grace works like that. It’s only when you draw near to it that the holy fear kicks in. It’s only when you draw near when you begin to appreciate its majesty, its depth, and its beauty.

You may have heard many things about the grace that is in Christ Jesus the Lord but make sure you get close enough to stand amazed and awestruck by it. Make sure you get close enough where your praise of grace can echo and redound to others who still need to draw nearer.

“But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord GOD, that I may declare all thy works.” (Psalm 73: 28)