social-mediaIt seems if you are plugged into any social media today you will read, hear, see, or be inundated with the choices people make and the associations they are making. As I become one of the inundated, I’m sure I am not hearing as much good news as I should. Jesus teaches us to be careful of the measure we give to things because that’s the measure we will receive.

My wife, Karen suggested I fast from all media for thirty days because so much of it tends to dishearten rather than hearten. I am not yet convinced I need to do that but one thing I do know: I have to choose to focus on the things of God and on the choice God has made for humanity more than focusing on the choices humanity makes for itself.

The one thing I know God has chosen is revealed to us when the early church gathered in counsel one with another to pursue the priority of God for their life together. After much dispute and discussion, a declaration was made that focused their time and energy from that point forward.

“After much discussion, Peter got up and addressed them: ‘Brothers, you know that some time ago God made a choice among you that the Gentiles might hear from my lips the message of the gospel and believe. God, who knows the heart, showed that he accepted them by giving the Holy Spirit to them, just as he did to us. He did not discriminate between us and them, for he purified their hearts by faith. Now then, why do you try to test God by putting on the necks of Gentiles a yoke that neither we nor our ancestors have been able to bear? No! We believe it is through the grace of our Lord Jesus that we are saved, just as they are’.”

So, what are we talking about? What is the topic of our discussions and disputing? Does the way we talk about things reveal God’s choice for people to hear the message of the gospel and believe? Does the way we talk show that there is no distinction between one person or another except whether they have received the Holy Spirit and their hearts have been purified by faith? Why are we endlessly talking as if the yoke we have been unable to bear must be put on by someone else for them to be acceptable? Does the way we talk and act remind people it is through the grace of the Lord Jesus that we, our family, our community, and our nation will be saved?

Lord, forgive me for stringing out “small” discussions of what I think or what someone else thinks. Let the one thing I share be the choice that you have made for humanity in Jesus Christ. Let that be my great cause and let me resist everything else.