missionIf you can do one thing well, you should do that one thing until it’s done. Multitasking is not a virtue but a vice.

If you can simplify a process but don’t because you’ve grown accustomed to what you’ve been doing you will add loss to your life over time. The more blessed you become the harder it will be to carry out that blessing to those you serve. This is why quality control begins with the refinement of ourselves.

If you can, realize that this refining process is an ongoing part of you and me being the person with which God moves and works. “And I will bring the third part through the fire, and will refine them as silver is refined, and will try them as gold is tried: they shall call on my name, and I will hear them: I will say, It is my people: and they shall say, The LORD is my God.” (Zechariah 13:9)

If you can, take a step back from your own opinions and your own practices to objectively observe the best practices of others. If your way is more focused and effective by all means continue. If not, if you can…

We live in a time when everyone wants to justify their point of view, their way of doing things, their side of the aisle. And that left unrefined is a dangerous thing. My father taught me how to do many things growing up on the farm and he would get very frustrated when we would try to do things differently. This frustration grew from two things: we were wasting the time he had used to learn what worked best and we were delaying mastery over what we were supposed to be learning.

If you can, do those things that are good within themselves to do, beneficial when done, and encourages and engages others in their own process of refinement and mastery. (Romans 12: 1 – 2)