experimentI conducted an experiment last night that helped me understand the Scripture in a different way. I held out my hands in front of me (you try it too) and I spoke the words, “This is me. This is who I am.” With the repetition of each phrase, my fingers curled back towards myself and rested on my chest, right on my breastplate. It was completely reflexive and involuntary but every time I spoke those words, “This is me. This is who I am.” this is where my hands came to rest.

What happened when you tried it?

What did this experiment mean to me? It helped me understand what the Apostle John was trying to reveal when he says, “No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son (GOD), which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him.” (John 1: 18)

Thus, when God says, “This is me. This is who I am.” the hand of GOD is reflexively pointing to Jesus. Colossians 2: 9 says it this way, “in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily”. The word, only begotten, directs our thinking to this conclusion, as well. To be the “Only Begotten” is to be the only way God is happening and manifest in the flesh. (1 Timothy 3: 16)

But the verses that got me thinking about this and doing my little experiment came from Exodus 34. Moses has asked God to show him His glory. ‘If I’ve found grace in your sight’, Moses said, ‘let me see your glory’ and God honors his request. Then Moses, looking at the backside of God’s glory pass by him (unable to see the “bosom of the Father”) declared this description of GOD: “The LORD, The LORD God, merciful and gracious, long suffering, and abundant in goodness and truth.” (Exodus 34: 6)

Immediately I hear in my mind, John 1: 14 share the same description of Jesus. “And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.”

I pray this experiment will help you recognize, trust, and honor Jesus the way you should and may you confess as Thomas did, “My LORD and my GOD”. (John 20: 28)

P. S. Comment and let me know what happened when you conducted the experiment. Does this help you recognize and worship Jesus as Lord and God?