devotionExodus 24 closes as Moses accompanied by Joshua make their way up the mountain into the overshadowing cloud. “For six days the cloud covered the mountain, and on the seventh day the Lord called Moses from within the cloud. To the Israelites, the glory of the Lord looked like a consuming fire on top of the mountain. Then Moses entered the cloud as he went up the mountain. And he stayed on the mountain forty days and forty nights”. (Exodus 24: 15 – 18)

From this time of moving higher and deeper into the presence of the Lord, Moses was given all the details for the offering, the tabernacle, the ark of the covenant, the mercy seat, the table for the Show bread, the golden lamp stand with its six branches, the incense, and the sacrifices. All the details to order the worship of the people came out of this time apart with the Lord.

Many of us long for the intimate details of God’s call upon us but the amount of time we are spending with God only allows us to see the things of God as too time consuming and too different from what is normal to be pursued. We are more like the Israelites and less like Moses in this respect.

Our calling is to be like Moses, drawn up from the cultural currents that surround us and set forth for God’s purposes in the earth. I am thankful for those who have both a desire and a discipline to deepen their devotion daily with the Lord. Even if I haven’t gotten to the place I yet need to be, I benefit from their faithfulness as you benefit from the faithfulness and devotion of your friends.

One example of this happened to me just a few weeks ago. I visited with my friends Craig and Tina Green. They were wonderfully kind and gracious to me as they opened their home and let me lodge for the night on my way to the National Association of United Methodist Evangelists’ Summit in Nashville. They even left the door unlocked for me to come in and get settled before they got home that evening.

It was in that quiet time before they arrived I got to sit in their den, read my Bible, and write a book chapter that I had struggled to  complete for several days. Being in that room where the Lord regularly abides as Tina and Craig share their morning devotions each day, all the muddled parts of my mind resolved into clear sentences and paragraphs on the page of my notebook.

The details followed devotion. It was true in the days of Moses and it is still true today.