Last night, we had a wonderful and provocative discussion with J. D. Walt of Seedbed about the ministry of bridging the gap between where people are and where they are called to be, as Romans 12 describes as, “offering themselves to the Lord as a living sacrifice…being renewed in their minds… proving what is that good, acceptable, and perfect will of God” in all they do.

We looked at a survey done by the Barna group that measured the spectrum of where we find ourselves spiritually in relationship to God (or not). This spectrum ran from totally oblivious to sin and our need for grace to totally in love with God and neighbor.  There were 10 stops measured along the spectrum where people settle. Here’s an article talking about it.

This morning I wrote a song to push myself into making sure I settle into the deepest, most consecrated space with God that I can each day. Maybe I’ll sing it to you on Facebook Live, Tuesday night, January 24th at 7:00 PM. Here are the lyrics.

There’s a space that’s between where I am and I should be. But, there’s grace that’s supreme that will bring the victory. God calls and I answer, Lord, here am I. In grace, I am standing, in the grace of Jesus Christ.

(Chorus) I’m holy discontented. I’m broken and surrendered. Lord, I love you and all you send me to. Lord, I’m yours.

There’s a pull on my heart that moves me towards the goal. The great call of our God that stirs and restores my soul. God calls and I answer, Lord, here am I. In grace, I am standing, in the grace of Jesus Christ. (Repeat Chorus)

Where do you find yourself, today?