previewI took a sneak peek at the Life Journal for today: Revelation 10 – 14. The one scripture that jumped out at me was Revelation 11: 12, “Then they heard a loud voice from heaven saying to them, ‘Come up here.’ And they went up to heaven in a cloud, while their enemies looked on.” My focus and attention was on what the loud voice said to the two witnesses after they had been raised to life.

“Come up here.” That’s simple enough but it is the difference between heaven and earth. I’ve been blessed to travel throughout the United States and Canada. I’ve passed through Europe on my way to Africa. I’ve enjoyed many mission trips to South and Central America. I even got to go to South Korea a few years ago. Most of those trips required a ‘come up here’ part as I boarded planes to get from home to there and back again.

This “Come up here” stands by itself. It’s more than the relative distances involved. It’s more of a cultural thing.  What cultures are involved? A few verses later explains what happens when the “Come up here” is responded to in faith. Another loud voice speaks and declares, “The kingdom of the world has become the kingdom of our Lord and of his Messiah, and he will reign for ever and ever.” (Revelation 11: 14)

When I was young I was invited to “come up here” and ride the horse. “Come up here” and ride the tractor”. “Come up here” and behave yourself. All of those were good. This “Come up here” involves moving from living among earth dwellers to living with Jesus. This “Come up here” involves moving from what is temporary to what is eternal, from what is corruptible to what is incorruptible. This “Come up here” moves us beyond where our enemies can reach.

If you hear that loud voice today, don’t harden your heart or delay your response. Get ready to rise. Get ready to be raised to newness of life. Get ready to form new habits that make for peace, righteousness, and joy. Get ready to live according to God’s purpose.

Why? So, you’ll be ready to lift off when the loud voice calls you out and says, “Come up here”!

P. S. I cannot wait until the love of Jesus sweeps us off our feet into His embrace. The world gets angry at the thought of being held accountable and judged by God; I cry tears of joy that the Lord’s mercy will cover our transgressions.