olittletownYesterday, I used a lot of words to say sometimes I find it difficult, if not impossible, to keep my mouth shut. After a Bible study many years ago, one preacher friend of mine lamented, “Norm, I feel so sorry for you.” I asked him, why? He said, “Because, you can’t think without talking, can you?”

Yes, I am a verbal thinker. If I say something out loud it becomes like an instant feedback loop for me. My aha moments come at the end of something spoken, not before, so sometimes I think out loud and realize too late that I should have been more focused on acting on what I already know rather than trying to discover something else by talking.

Instead of aha moments for others, my speech elicited ‘uh-ohs’ as I spoke out of turn again.  It is humbling to admit as a professional speaker that your greatest asset can be your silence.  This is why singing has saved me many times when speaking was not working or getting the results I had hoped it would.

But, if I am honest (and I want to be) my problem was I wanted results when simple actions were all that was appropriate. Alex Foster in his book, Writing a Book a Week says if you want to truly make a difference, then “the trick is to focus on your actions and not your results”. {Foster, Alex. Writing a Book a Week: How to profit with self-publishing (Kindle Locations 264-265).} How many times do I need to be reminded of that? Too many times to count in this blog.

I’ll leave us one reminder of this from the third verse of the Christmas carol, O Little Town of Bethlehem.

How silently, how silently
The wondrous gift is given
So God imparts to human hearts
The blessings of His heaven
No ear may hear His coming
But in this world of sin
Where meek souls will receive him still
The dear Christ enters in